Hon. Solomon Djangmah Assembly Member for Lower West Prampram has been elected as the Presiding Member for the Third Assembly of the Ningo Prampram District. He received an overwhelming 91% majority approval from the house. The other contestant, Hon. Nartey Mensah Nathan stepped down in support and approval for Hon. Djangmah to contest unopposed. He further urged his fellow members to vote massively for Hon. Djangmah.

Out of the thirty-four (34) members constituting the Assembly, thirty members (30) gave their approval to Hon. Solomon Djangmah. One member was absent for the voting and a rejected vote was recorded. One member has no voting rights. The third Assembly had earlier failed to elect a Presiding Member on the 24th of January 2020, at the inaugural ceremony of the Assembly Members. This second election is in fulfillment of the standing orders of the Assembly.

The Magistrate Judge, His worship John Evans Ocran Swore him into the office and immediately proceeded to preside over the assembly. He thanked the members of the assembly for the opportunity given him, to serve as a Presiding Member.

He appreciated the engulfing confidence reposed in him. He assured his colleagues that the welfare of all members, irrespective of one’s political affiliation, is his topmost priority. He entreated the members to work in unity devoid of partisan politics for the progress of the District.

The District Chief Executive Hon. Jonathan Teye Doku enjoined the Assembly to exist as a strong team with the interest of the District at heart. He reminded members that their call to duty is a call to serve with all humility and must not fail their electorates.

The Assembly proceeded to form the various sub-committees to commence their term in office. The District Coordinating Director Mr. Mohammed Ali Amadu, informed members that the Institute of Local Government and the Regional Coordinating Council would jointly conduct an orientation for them in the near future.

The elections were conducted by the District Electoral Commission. It took place at the District Assembly Conference Hall on Friday, 31st January 2020. The staff of the Assembly was present.

Doreen Aculey
Ningo-Prampram District
Information Services Department

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *