District Health Directorate

Departmental Profile

  1. Mission

To provide and prudently manage comprehensive and accessible health service with special emphasis on primary health care in accordance with national policies.


2. Vision 

A healthy population with universal access to quality service

  1. Core Values




People Centeredness

Innovation and Excellence


(Dedication, Excellence, Professionalism, Integrity, Care and Compassion, Teamwork)


  1. Services/Functions by department/unit

Implementation of approved national health policy for health delivery in the district

Increase access to improve health services

Managing prudently resources available for provision of health services

Hence, the department responsible for providing quality and affordable health care, both curative and preventive through services rendered by 25 government health facilities and nine (10) private facilities.


Public (25)

  • 1 Polyclinic, 1 Health Centre, 7 CHPS compounds, 2 CHPS compounds nearly functional and 14 functional zones.

Private (10)

  • 4 Hospitals, 4 Clinics, 2 maternity Homes

-Health Workforce

  • 207 staff (1 Medical Officer, 3 Physician Assistant, 157 Nurses, 12 Technical Officers, 34 others)
  • Females :166 Males :41


Collectively the services rendered include the following:

Out – Patient , In-Patient, Pharmacy and Dispensary, Ante-Natal care, Maternal/delivery care, Post-natal care, Eye Clinic, Emergency, Family Planning, Child Welfare Clinic, Nutrition, Disease Control, Health Promotion, Adolescent Reproductive Health, Health Records Management, and some surgeries.

All government health facilities and some private facilities are NHIS accredited.

  1. Projects/Programs executed and ongoing (yearly /quarterly programs)

Expanded Program on Immunization

TB Control Programme

AIDS control Programme

Malaria Control Programme

Maternal Child Health and Nutrition Improvement Project (MCHNP)


  1. Name of Sub-units

– Prampram polyclinic

Medical Officer in Charge: Dr.  Beryl Karikari


– Old Ningo Health Center

Physician Assistant (Medical) in Charge: Elizabeth Dwamena


– New Ningo CHPS Compound

Nursing Officer in Charge: Annette Zordeh


– Lekpongunor CHPS Compound

Nursing Officer in Charge: Rosewitha Mensah-Boakye


– Nyigbenya CHPS Compound

Midwife in Charge: Velda P. Solomon


– Dawa CHPS Compound

Midwife in Charge: Paulina Setorwofia


– Afienya CHPS Compound

Nursing Officer (Public Health) in Charge: Naomi Ahotor


– Dawhenya CHPS Compound

Midwife in Charge: Sophia Gaisie


– Lakpleku CHPS Compound

Community Health Nurse in Charge: Believe Sitsofe Dzah

  1. Name of Head of Department, Other Unit Heads

Gifty Ofori Ansah – District Director of Health Service

Mary Wilson – Head of Nursing

Kwesi Yorke – Head of Finance

Nutefe Lawluvi – District Public Health Nurse

Barbara Boachie – Public Health Nurse

Linda Asamany – District Health Information Officer

Harriet Affran Bonful- District Pharmacist

Eva Okang – District Nutrition Officer

Isaac Angmortey – District Disease Control Officer

Ebenezer Boakye Amponsah – District Health Promotion Officer

Amos Tettey – District Surveillance officer

Joseph Ankoh – Executive Officer